

## SUMMARY OF THE DECISION OF THE OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATOR

The Official Administrator of Alberta Health Services ("AHS") (the "Official Administrator") reviewed and approved the following resolution on January 28, 2014. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the Office of the Official Administrator at official.administrator@albertahealthservices.ca.

## ITEM OF APPROVAL

[OA14-03] Quality Assurance and Patient Safety Advisory Committee Establishment and Membership

The Official Administrator established the Quality Assurance and Patient Safety Advisory Committee and appointed members to such committee, as is reflected below.

WHEREAS this Resolution is enacted pursuant to Section 11(2)(a) of the *Regional Health Authorities Act* (Alberta) and the Order of the Minister of Health of Alberta dated September 10, 2013, appointing Dr. John Cowell as the Official Administrator of AHS (the "Official Administrator");

AND WHEREAS pursuant to Section 8.1 of the AHS General Bylaws, the regional health authority may establish one or more committees by resolution;

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator, in his capacity as the governance entity of AHS, wishes to establish an Quality Assurance and Patient Safety Advisory Committee (the "Committee") to assist in promoting an environment of decision-making for clinical operations that ensures the quality and safety of health care, builds a culture of trust for patients and health care providers, and provides equitable access to provincial health services for all Albertans;

AND WHEREAS pursuant to Section 8.2 of the AHS General Bylaws, committees of the Official Administrator of the regional health authority shall have their membership approved by the Official Administrator;

## NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. The Committee is hereby established as a governance advisory committee of the Official Administrator.
- 2. The chair and members of the Committee (collectively, the "Committee Members") are as follows:
  - (a) the Official Administrator;
  - (b) Mr. Douglas Tupper Chair;
  - (c) Dr. Thomas Feasby; and
  - (d) Mr. Gord Winkel.

3.	The Official Administ Committee Members of individuals as Committed	or increase	membershi	to time ip of the	fill any va Committee	cancy amon by appointin	gst the g other
	/s/						
	Kristin Long Corporate Secretary						