

SUMMARY OF THE DECISION OF THE OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATOR

The Official Administrator of Alberta Health Services ("AHS") (the "Official Administrator") reviewed and approved the following resolutions on May 30, 2014. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the Office of the Official Administrator at official.administrator@albertahealthservices.ca.

ITEMS OF APPROVAL

- 1. [OA14-12] Quality Assurance and Patient Safety Advisory Committee Membership Appointments
- 2. [OA14-13] Human Resources Advisory Committee Membership Appointments

1. [OA14-12] Quality Assurance and Patient Safety Advisory Committee Membership Appointments

Members of governance advisory committees are required to be appointed by the Official Administrator.

WHEREAS this Resolution is enacted pursuant to Section 11(2)(a) of the *Regional Health Authorities Act* (Alberta) and the Order of the Minister of Health of Alberta (the "Minister") dated September 10, 2013, appointing Dr. John Cowell as the Official Administrator of AHS (the "Official Administrator");

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator, in his capacity as the governance entity of AHS, established the Quality Assurance and Patient Safety Advisory Committee (the "Committee") on January 28, 2014 to assist in promoting an environment of decision-making for clinical operations that ensures the quality and safety of health care, builds a culture of trust for patients and health care providers, and provides equitable access to provincial health services for all Albertans;

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator appointed Mr. Douglas Tupper, Dr. Thomas Feasby, Mr. Gord Winkel and the Official Administrator as members of the Committee (collectively, the "Committee Members") on January 28, 2014;

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator may from time to time fill any vacancy amongst the Committee Members or increase membership of the Committee by appointing other individuals as Committee Members;

AND WHEREAS pursuant to Section 9.2 of the AHS General Bylaws, committees of the Official Administrator of AHS shall have their membership approved by the Official Administrator;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. Mr. Brian Olson is hereby appointed as a Committee Member; and
- 2. Mr. Don Sieben is hereby appointed as a Committee Member.

2. [OA14-13] Human Resources Advisory Committee Membership Appointments

Members of governance advisory committees are required to be appointed by the Official Administrator.

WHEREAS this Resolution is enacted pursuant to Section 11(2)(a) of the *Regional Health Authorities Act* (Alberta) and the Order of the Minister of Health of Alberta (the "Minister") dated September 10, 2013, appointing Dr. John Cowell as the Official Administrator of AHS (the "Official Administrator");

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator, in his capacity as the governance entity of AHS, established the Human Resources Advisory Committee (the "Committee") on December 12, 2013 to assist in fulfilling the human resources oversight responsibilities of AHS and in overseeing management's administration of AHS on human resources related items;

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator appointed Mr. Brian Olson, Ms. Barbara Burton, Mr. Martin Harvey, Mr. Gregory Henders and the Official Administrator as members of the Committee (collectively, the "Committee Members") on December 12, 2013;

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator may from time to time fill any vacancy amongst the Committee Members or increase membership of the Committee by appointing other individuals as Committee Members;

AND WHEREAS pursuant to Section 9.2 of the AHS General Bylaws, committees of the Official Administrator of AHS shall have their membership approved by the Official Administrator;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. Mr. Don Sieben is hereby appointed as a Committee Member; and
- 2. Mr. Doug Tupper is hereby appointed as a Committee Member.

/s/
Catherine MacNeill
Acting Corporate Secretary