

# SUMMARY OF THE PUBLIC BOARD MEETING – March 1, 2017

The Alberta Health Services ("AHS") Board met on March 1, 2017 at Seventh Street Plaza, 10030 – 107 Street NW, Main Floor, Conference Room A, in Edmonton. The following is an account of the resolutions approved at the meeting. Minutes of the Board meeting will also be posted once approved. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the Board Office at <a href="mailto:ahs.board@ahs.ca">ahs.board@ahs.ca</a>.

### **ITEMS OF DISCUSSION**

- 1. [CEC17-02] Advisory Council Member Renewals and Appointments
- 2. [CEC17-03] Q4 Appointment of Trustees to Health Foundations
- 3. [CEC17-04] Amendments to Provincial Advisory Council Bylaws
- 4. [FC17-01] Delegation of Signing Authority to the President and CEO for the Celgene Revlimid® Agreement
- 5. [FC17-02] Third Quarter Investment Report

# 1. [CEC17-02] Advisory Council Member Renewals and Appointments

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved member renewals and new appointments as applicable, for the following individuals as members to the noted Advisory Councils, for terms specified:

Health Advisory Council Renewals – for a Three Year Term – effective January 1, 2017 to				
December 31, 2019				
Health Advisory Council	Name			
David Thompson	Ms. Sandra Doze			
David Hioripson	Ms. Janice Lockhart			
Greater Edmonton	Ms. Edith Baraniecki			
Greater Editionton	Ms. Teresa O'Riordan			
Lakeland Communities	Mr. David Beale			
	Ms. Patricia Palechuk			
Lesser Slave Lake	Mr. Brian Rosche			
Oldman Biyar	Mr. Fred Bosma			
Oldman River	Mr. Clifford Elle			
Palliser Triangle	Ms. Marjorie Moncrief			
Peace	Ms. Yvonne Rempel			
Prairie Mountain	Ms. Moremi Omotoso			
	Ms. Francesca Simon			
Tamarack	Mr. Douglas Heine			
	Mr. Daniel Pritchard			
True North	Mr. Waldemar Schroeder			
Wood Buffalo	Ms. Heather MacKay			
Yellowhead	Mr. Gary Duffett			

Health Advisory Council New Appointments – for a Three Year Term – effective March 1, 2017 to February 29, 2020			
Health Advisory Council	Name		
Greater Edmonton	Ms. Anahi Johnson		
Lakeland Communities	Mr. Robert Deresh		
	Mr. Zicki Eludin		
Oldman River	Ms. Gerri Eagle Speaker		
Peace	Ms. Alison Cormack		
	Ms. Laura Hancharuk		
Wood Buffalo	Ms. Lucie Lapierre		
	Mr. Ahmad Qayyum		
	Ms. Cathy Underhill		
	Mr. Jonathan Willcott		
Yellowhead East	Ms. Ellen Lefsrud		
	Ms. Tahneen Rudyk		

Addiction & Mental Health PAC New Appointments – for a Two Year Term - effective April 1, 2017		
	Name	
Calgary Area	Ms. Timena Osborne	

Cancer PAC New Appointments – for a Three Year Term - effective March 1, 2017		
	Name	
Calgary Area	Mr. Stephen Herbert	
South Area	Mr. Bryson Brown	

Cancer PAC New Appointments – for a Two Year Term - effective March 1, 2017		
	Name	
Calgary Area	Ms. Leanne Anderson	
Central Area	Ms. Andrea DeYoung	
North Area	Mr. Ernie Grach	

# 2. [CEC17-03] Q4 Appointment of Trustees to Health Foundations

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved the appointments or re-appointments, as applicable, for the following individuals as trustees to the noted foundations indicated, for the terms specified:

Foundation	Name	Role	Period of Appointment
Alberta Cancer Foundation	Matthew Parliament	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2018
Calgary Health Trust	Dan Silvester	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
Lac La Biche Regional	Omer Moghrabi	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
Health Foundation	Sharon Hutchinson	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2019
Medicine Hat & District Health Foundation	Chris Hellman	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
	Marliss Cartier	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2019
	Tammy Cote	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
	Terri Fraser	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2019
Rocky Mountain House and Area Health Services Foundation	Shirley Hope	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
	Dexter Kjorlien	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
	Marlene Levinsky	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
	Phyllis Loewen	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2019
	Dale Shippelt	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2019
	Ann Stewart	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020
Charth and a Community	Linda Osinchuk	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2019
Strathcona Community Hospital Foundation	Douglas Endres	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2018
	Victor Bidzinski	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2018
Vulcan County Health and Wellness Foundation	Susan Dow	Trustee	March 1, 2017 to March 1, 2020

### 3. [CEC17-04] Amendments to Provincial Advisory Council Bylaws

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved the proposed revisions to the Addiction and Mental Health Provincial Advisory Council Amended Bylaw and the Cancer Provincial Advisory Council Amended Bylaw as reviewed by the Committee and directed management to forward the revised Bylaws to Alberta Health for the Minister's approval.

# 4. [FC17-01] Delegation of Signing Authority to the President and CEO for the Celgene Revlimid® Agreement

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board:

- a) approved a contract between Celgene and Alberta Health Services effective October 1, 2016 for the 6year supply of Revlimid® upon the terms and conditions presented to the Finance Committee; and
- b) delegated authority to the Alberta Health Services President and CEO to sign the Contract on behalf of AHS.

## 5. [FC17-02] Third Quarter Investment Report

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board ratified the investment portfolio and transactions described below, and as certified by signed investment compliance certificates from AHS and Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management:

- a) as at December 31, 2016, AHS held restricted and unrestricted funds managed by Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management and Standard Life Canada totalling \$1.497 billion;
- b) the funds were invested in short term treasury bills, federal, provincial and corporate fixed income bonds, pooled mortgage funds, bond funds, Canadian and Global equity funds; and
- c) all of the funds invested during the quarter ended December 31, 2016, were invested in accordance with the Investment Bylaw and Investments Policy as certified by signed investment compliance certificates from AHS and PH&N.

/s/	
Catherine MacNeill	
Corporate Secretary & Legal Co	unsel