

# PUBLIC BOARD MEETING

Minutes of the meeting of the Alberta Health Services (AHS) Board (Board) held by teleconference on May 23, 2024.

## Attendees:

<b>Board Members:</b>	Dr. Lyle Oberg, Executive Chair
	Sandy Edmonstone, Board Vice-Chair
	Angela Fong
	Cynthia Farmer
	Evan Romanow
	Paul Haggis
Management:	Andrea Beckwith-Ferraton, Interim General Counsel & Corporate Secretary and Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer

**Regrets:** Andre Tremblay

Dr. Lyle Oberg acted as Chair of the meeting and Ms. Beckwith-Ferraton acted as Recording Secretary.

Dr. Oberg called the meeting to order at approximately 3:15 p.m. Notice of the meeting had been properly given and quorum was met.

#### **Welcome & Comments from the Executive Chair**

# The following is an abstract of Dr. Lyle Oberg's, Executive Chair, remarks at the meeting. It is not an official transcript:

Good afternoon, everyone, and welcome.

My name is Dr. Lyle Oberg. I am the Executive Chair of the AHS Board, and I would like to welcome you to the AHS public Board meeting. Thank you very much for taking the time to join us. This is a meeting of the Board to consider one motion.

#### • <u>Review of Agenda</u>

**UPON MOTION** duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried, the Board approved the agenda for the meeting of the Board held on May 23, 2024, which was provided to the Board in advance of the meeting.

# Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

Dr. Oberg requested that any conflicts of interest relevant to the meeting or items noted on the agenda be declared. None were declared.

# 1. Approval of Minutes – March 28, 2024

**UPON MOTION** duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried, the minutes of the AHS Board meeting held on March 28, 2024 were approved and the Executive Chair of the Board and Interim General Counsel & Corporate Secretary and Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer were authorized and directed to sign the minutes in the form so approved; and the Interim General Counsel & Corporate Secretary and Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer was directed to file them, together with all ancillary documents attached thereto, in the corporate records of AHS and to deliver a copy of these to the Minister of Health.

## 2. Foundation Trustee Appointments/Reappointments Q1 2024-25

Angela Fong, Committee Chair, noted that the Governance, Compliance & Human Resources Committee reviewed the Foundation Trustee appointments and reappointments Q1 2024-25. The Board reviewed the appointments and reappointments, and the members supported the approval.

UPON MOTION duly moved, seconded and unanimously carried the Alberta Health Services Board approved the appointments and reappointments of Trustees to Health Foundations for the terms as follows:

Calgary Zone Foundations					
Foundation	Name	Period of Appointment			
Cochrane & Area Health	Stephanie Arnal	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025			
Foundation	John (Chuck) Collins	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025			
	Stephanie Meakin	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025			
	Robert Cameron	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025			
Vulcan County Health & Wellness Foundation	Hugh Campbell	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2027			
Edmonton Zone Foundations					
Foundation	Name	Period of Appointment			
Fort Saskatchewan Community Hospital	Lisa Makin	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2026			

Foundation					
Central Zone Foundations					
Foundation	Name	Period of Appointment			
Ponoka and District Health Foundation	Charles Park	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2027			
	Dorothy Ungstad	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2027			
South Zone Foundations					
Foundation	Name	Period of Appointment			
Crowsnest Pass Health Foundation	Joni MacFarlane	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2026			
Oyen & District Health Care Foundation	Muriel Martin	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025			
	Debra Lou Rafa	June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2027			

# ✤ <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

/s

Dr. Lyle Oberg Board Chair /s

Andrea Beckwith-Ferraton, Interim General Counsel & Corporate Secretary and Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer