

SUMMARY OF THE DECISION OF THE OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATOR

The Official Administrator of Alberta Health Services ("**AHS**") (the "**Official Administrator**") reviewed and approved the following resolution on February 15, 2015. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the Office of the Official Administrator at <u>official.administrator@albertahealthservices.ca</u>.

ITEM OF APPROVAL

[OA15-02] Audit & Risk Committee and Finance Committee Establishment and Membership

WHEREAS this Resolution is enacted pursuant to Section 11(2)(a) of the Regional Health Authorities Act (Alberta) and the Order of the Minister of Health of Alberta effective November 17, 2014, appointing Dr. Carl Amrhein as the Official Administrator of AHS (the "Official Administrator");

AND WHEREAS pursuant to Section 9.1 of the AHS General Bylaws, the Official Administrator may establish one or more committees by resolution;

AND WHEREAS on September 23, 2013, Dr. John Cowell, in his capacity as the Official Administrator, established the Audit & Finance Advisory Committee:

AND WHEREAS the Official Administrator wishes to disestablish the Audit & Finance Advisory Committee and establish:

- (i) an Audit & Risk Committee to fulfil the oversight responsibilities of the Board with respect to management and compliance, external financial reporting, internal controls over financial reporting, internal audit, and external audit;
- (ii) and a Finance Committee to fulfil the financial oversight responsibilities of the Board and in overseeing management's administration of AHS on finance related items;

AND WHEREAS pursuant to Section 9.2 of the AHS General Bylaws, committees of the Official Administrator authority shall have their membership approved by the Official Administrator;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. The Audit & Finance Committee Advisory Committee is disestablished.
- 2. The Audit & Risk Committee and the Finance Committee are hereby established as governance committees of the Official Administrator.
- 3. The chair and members of each of the Audit & Committee and the Finance Committee (collectively, the "Committee Members") are as follows:
 - (a) the Official Administrator;
 - (b) Mr. Don Sieben Chair;
 - (c) Mr. Doug Tupper; and

(d) President & CEO (ex-officio – non-voting).

The Official Administrator may from time to time fill any vacancy amongst the Committee Members or increase membership of either the Audit & Risk Committee or the Finance Committee by appointing other individuals as Committee Members.

/s/

Catherine MacNeill Acting Corporate Secretary