

## SUMMARY OF THE DECISIONS OF THE OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATOR

The Official Administrator of Alberta Health Services ("**AHS**") (the "**Official Administrator**") reviewed and approved the following resolutions on June 30, 2015. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact the Office of the Official Administrator at <u>official.administrator@albertahealthservices.ca</u>.

## ITEMS OF APPROVAL

- 1. [OA15-09] Health Advisory Council Member Appointment Extensions
- 2. [OA15-10] Amendment to the Amended Bylaw for Alberta Health Services Establishing Health Advisory Councils

## 1. [OA15-09] Health Advisory Council Member Appointment Extensions

**WHEREAS** this Resolution is enacted pursuant to Section 11(2)(a) of the *Regional Health Authorities Act* (Alberta) and the Order of the Minister of Health of Alberta effective November 17, 2014, appointing Dr. Carl Amrhein as the Official Administrator of AHS (the "Official Administrator");

**AND WHEREAS** pursuant to Subsection 7.3(b) of the Amended Bylaw for AHS Establishing Health Advisory Councils, members of health advisory councils are appointed or reappointed by the relevant regional health authority;

**AND WHEREAS** the following individuals below were appointed by Alberta Health Services for terms ending June 30, 2015;

**AND WHEREAS** the Official Administrator wishes to extend the appointments of the individuals to October 31, 2015;

## NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

#### 1. <u>Health Advisory Council Appointments</u>

The appointments of the following individuals are hereby extended to October 31, 2015 to the health advisory councils indicated in the table below:

Health Advisory Council	Name
Greater Edmonton	Lawrence Tymko
Lakeland Communities	Marvin Fyten
	James Lamouche
	Mel Smith
	Robert Brasssard

Health Advisory Council	Name
Lesser Slave Lake	Ernie Grach
	Connie McKee
	Marian Wolitski
Oldman River	Emma Hulit
Palliser Triangle	Jim Black
	Rudi Brockmann
	Diane MacNaughton
	Patty Rooks
	Martin Shields
Peace	Judy Brown
	Connie Hansen
	Michelle Margarit
	Michael Ouellette
	Leona Hanson
	Cheryl Van Eerden
Prairie Mountain	Ola Lawal
	Tracy D. Mah
	Janson Evanson
Tamarack	Gail Dunn
	Denise Lambert
True North	Danny Friesen
	Matthew Murphy
	Michael Osborn
	Noreen McAteer
Wood Buffalo	Dave Bacon
	Jim Moore
Yellowhead East	Katherine (Pat) Carey
	Martha Waldorf

## 2. [OA15-10] Amendment to the Amended Bylaw for Alberta Health Services Establishing Health Advisory Councils

**WHEREAS** this Resolution is enacted pursuant to Section 11(2)(a) of the *Regional Health Authorities Act* (Alberta) and the Order of the Minister of Health of Alberta effective November 17, 2014, appointing Dr. Carl Amrhein as the Official Administrator of AHS (the "Official Administrator");

**AND WHEREAS** section 7.1 of the Amended Bylaw for Alberta Health Services Establishing Health Advisory Councils (the "Bylaw") provides that there shall be ten (10) to fifteen (15) members on each of the twelve (12) Health Advisory Councils;

**AND WHEREAS** it is proposed that section 7.1 of the Bylaw be amended to refer to existing wording as paragraph (a) and to add paragraph (b) that will provide for less than ten (10) members for an interim period under certain circumstances (the "Amendment");

**AND WHEREAS** the Bylaw provides (i) that the Official Administrator shall approve the Amendment and shall submit it to the Minister of Health (the "Minister") for approval, and (ii) that the Amendment shall be effective upon written approval by the Minister;

# NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

1. the Amendment is hereby approved so that section 7.1 of the Bylaw shall read, once Ministerial approval is obtained:

## **"7.1 Membership**

- (a) There shall be ten (10) to fifteen (15) members on each of the twelve (12) Councils; and
- (b) Notwithstanding (a), when in the opinion of the Official Administrator of AHS circumstances require that one or more Councils consist of less than ten (10) members, a Council may consist of a minimum of five (5) members for a period of time that the Official Administrator of AHS considers reasonable to accommodate the circumstance.
- 2. the Amendment shall be submitted to the Minister for approval.

/s/

Catherine MacNeill Acting Corporate Secretary