**Provincial Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Standing Committee** Surgery Strategic Clinical Network

# 2022-2023 Progress Report



May 31, 2023

# Table of Contents

# Contents

Contact	3
Introduction	4
About the Committee	4
Projects, Priorities, and Goals	4
Impact and Provincial Presence	4
Our Strategic Action Areas	5
Committee Membership (March 31, 2023)	6

May 31, 2023

This report has been prepared by Laura Davey, Surgery Strategic Clinical Network.

## Contact

For more information, please contact: ampsc@ahs.ca

3

FY 2022 -2023 Progress Report Provincial Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Standing Committee Surgery Strategic Clinical Network

#### Introduction

This progress report summarizes the activities and impact of the provincial Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Standing Committee (Surgery Strategic Clinical Network) for the 2022-2023 Fiscal Year period April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2023.

#### About the Committee

Established in December 2021, the Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Standing Committee functions to facilitate resolution, create connections and support joint decision making on issues affecting Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine provincially. Clinical and operational leaders partner to communicate, align and action the significant priorities of the specialty and inform the strategy of the SCN.

Projects proposed for implementation and operationalization in Alberta are brought to the committee for endorsement, discussion, and connection with relevant teams.

The only committee of its kind in the province, this important forum is founded on providing leadership in anesthesiology and pain medicine, increasing the provincial presence of the specialty, building an integrated team, and delivering solutions. The APMSC is the provincial forum for collaboration and actioning of issues affecting the specialty. With the establishment of a recognized provincial venue for problem-solving, the committee can increase satisfaction for practitioners through projects that bridge gaps and lead to systems wide improvement.

Co-chaired by Dr. Dominic Cave and Dr. Gary Dobson, the activities of the committee are organized into the focus areas of quality and safety, partnership with pharmacy services, technology & innovation, supporting pathways & practice, and supporting clinicians and surgical operations strategy.

Notable initiatives and contributions include strategy, guidance and communications support during pharmaceutical and supply shortages, sponsorship of order sets and protocols, standardization of processes and equipment across the organization and chartered surgical facilities, technology and formulary reviews and evaluation. The committee has had meaningful impact in increasing involvement and consultation of anesthesia in provincial projects, facilitating connections and issue resolution.

#### Projects, Priorities, and Goals

The committee serves as a catalyst for change; the structure provides the necessary resources and means for provincial anesthesia input on provincial projects and initiatives. It fosters a culture of quality, safety and high reliability in the organization that support changes in practice and consistency in outcomes.

Our strategic goals are:

- Provide provincial leadership in anesthesiology & operations
- Increase anesthesia's provincial presence
- o Build an integrated team
- Deliver solutions

#### Impact and Provincial Presence

The APMSC is the provincial forum for collaboration and actioning of issues affecting the specialty. With the establishment of a recognized provincial venue for problem-solving, the committee can increase satisfaction for practitioners through projects that bridge gaps and lead to systems wide improvement.



FY 2022 -2023 Progress Report Provincial Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Standing Committee Surgery Strategic Clinical Network

## Our Strategic Action Areas

Strategic action area	Action to report
Quality & Safety	Endorsement and provincial support for key recommendations: standardization & alignment with AHS in chartered surgical facilities (CSFs)
	Clinical guidance development during epidural catheter shortage
	Provincial standardization work ongoing: >Maintain provincial repository of zone drug drawer layouts >Equipment and supplies
Technology & Innovation	Partner with Evidence Decision Support Program (EDSP) for formulary reviews
	Evaluation of technology requests
Partnership with Pharmacy Services	Communication, coordination & strategy consultation during pharmaceutical shortages (example: remifentanil, sevoflurane, ketamine)
	Sugammadex implementation oversight
	Automated Dispensing Cabinets (ADC) Working Group representation & advisory
	Anesthesia syringe pump standardization strategy & drug library partnership >Target controlled infusion subgroup
Supporting Pathways & Practice	Sponsor Opioid Induced Respiratory Depression (OIRD) protocol
	Sponsor Acute Pain Service (APS) order sets
	Review of Bone & Joint Health Strategic Clinical Network Hip Fracture Anticoagulation Algorithm
	Environmental sustainability: > Endorsement of provincial desflurane education sticker campaign > Inventory of stewardship activities across anesthesia departments and surgical services
Surgical Operations Strategy	Anesthesia Care Team program support and communication
	Alberta Surgical Initiative: Prehabilitation project engagement

# Committee Membership (as of March 31, 2023)

Area of Representation	Representative
Executive Sponsors	Jill Robert & Dr. Jonathan White
Committee Co-Chairs	Dr. Dominic Cave Dr. Gary Dobson
Committee Lead	Laura Davey
Alberta Surgical Initiative	Suzanne Higgins
Evidence Decision Support Program	Dr. Tara Klassen
North Zone Clinical Department	Dr. Danielle Joubert (alt- Dr. Saeed Labbaf)
North Zone Operations	Nathan Banda
Edmonton Zone Clinical Department	Dr. Neil Klassen Dr. Saifee Rashiq Dr. Tim Van Haaften
Edmonton Zone Operations	Heather Carew (alt- Shelley Winton)
Central Zone Clinical Department	Dr. Karim Mohamed
Central Zone Operations	Susan Reader
Calgary Zone Clinical Department	Dr. Joel Fox
Calgary Zone Operations	Bryan Peffers Andrew Jenkins Michael Coutts
South Zone Clinical Department	Dr. Majed Alturkistani Dr. Kirstin Derdall
South Zone Operations	Linda Tessmann Potvin
Covenant Clinical Department	Dr. Raveen Bhalla
Covenant Operations	Steve Lucas
Alberta Pain Strategy	Dr. Nivez Rasic
Quality & Safety	Dr. Judy Marois



For more on the committee:

Projects & Initiatives | Alberta Health Services Questions? Contact: <u>surgery.scn@ahs.ca</u>