Search

Medical Inpatients

Hospitalist Program

Attending physicians for unattached medical patients presenting to the Emergency Department for admission.

Scope

  • General Medicine level patients that can be managed by an in-house family medicine service
  • Hospitalist skills and experience have increased over time
  • Special Expertise and Programs:
  • Chronic Ventilator Patients, Eating Disorders Patients, etc

Schedule

  • At least one MD in house 24/7
  • Physicians take call for their own patients 0800 -1600 hrs
  • Second MD in house for peak periods and on call from home at other times
  • Mandatory Family Medicine Resident rotation at FMC since October 2006

Census

  • Foothills Medical Centre:  140 patients
  • Rockyview General Hospital: 140 patients
  • Peter Lougheed Centre:  115 patients

Compensation

  • Contractual with hourly rate

Resident Extenders or Clinical Associates

Work for various departments on an on-call basis – most shifts are nights and weekends (some exceptions).

Opportunities Available:

  • Intensive Care Unit
  • Obstetrics
  • General Surgery
  • Orthopedics
  • Neurosurgery
  • Trauma
  • Medical Oncology

Contact

Medical Inpatient Care Section Chief
Dr. Jim Eisner
jeisner@ucalgary.ca
403-944-2800

FMC Site Chief
Dr. Peter Jamieson
peter.jamieson@ahs.ca
403-944-2800

FMC Deputy Site Chief
Dr. Alison Lewis
alisonelizabeth.lewis@ahs.ca
403-944-2800

PLC Co-Site Chief
Dr. Sumeet Bhatia
sumeet.bhatia@ahs.ca
403-943-5709

PLC Co-Site Chief
Dr. Scott Wakefield
scott.wakefield@ahs.ca

RGH Site Chief
Dr. Thomas Tam
thomas.tam@ahs.ca
403-943-3639

RGH Deputy Site Chief
Dr. Misty Watson
misty.peterson@ahs.ca
403-943-3639

SHC Site Chief
Dr. Kobus Stassen
kobus.stassen@ahs.ca
403-956-3042

SHC Deputy Site Chief
Dr. Rattanjeet Vig
rattanjeet.vig@ahs.ca
403-956-3042

Acute Care Program Manager
Judy Schoen
judy.schoen@ahs.ca
403-944-8728