COVID-19 info for Albertans & Health Professionals and about Visiting Patients.

COVID-19 Testing - Complete a Self-Assessment and book an appointment for testing.

Clinical Ethics

Helping to answer difficult questions

How We Help

Health care is complex and sometimes requires us to make difficult decisions where there are no clear answers.

When underlying beliefs and values are in conflict we can help answer questions like:

  • “What is a good thing to do?”
  • “How should this decision be made?”
  • “Is this a reasonable compromise?”

Ethics Framework

The Ethics Framework makes available, a variety of resources to help you address any ethical questions. These resources are designed to support decision-making, and to build our collective ethics IQ.

How to Access

Alberta Health Services physicians, staff, patients, clients and residents can access the Clinical Ethics Service to receive support and assistance in ethically challenging situations.

Have a question?

E-mail
clinicalethics@ahs.ca

Phone
Administrative Coordinator (all Zones) 1-855-943-2821 | Calgary 403-943-2821

You may also access the Clinical Ethics Service by contacting the Clinical Ethicist at your Site, Program or in your Zone.

What Zone am I in?  Find your zone (map)

Provincial Contact

Al-Noor Nenshi Nathoo
Executive Director
al-noor.nenshinathoo@ahs.ca
587-794-3177

Administrative Coordinator
All Zones 1-855-943-2821 | Calgary 403-943-2821

North Zone

Nikoo Najand, PhD
Clinical Ethicist (also covering Royal Alexandra Hospital, Edmonton)
nikoo.najand@ahs.ca 
780-735-5330 | 587-986-9075

Edmonton Zone

Katherine Duthie, PhD
Clinical Ethicist, Royal Alexandra Hospital
katherine.duthie@ahs.ca
780-735-6910 / 780-860-5281

Andrew Ross, PhD
Clinical Ethicist, Royal Alexandra Hospital
andrewd.ross@ahs.ca
780-999-4521

Central Zone

Victoria Seavilleklein, PhD
Clinical Ethicist
victoria.seavilleklein@ahs.ca   
403-343-4823

Calgary Zone

Gary Lepine, DTh
Clinical Ethicist
Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus
gary.lepine@ahs.ca
403-614-1862

Helgi Eyford, PhD
Clinical Ethicist
Peter Lougheed Centre, Community Care, Mental Health
helgi.eyford@ahs.ca
403-943-4304 | 403-629-3293

Kyle Anstey, PhD
Clinical Ethicist
Foothills Medical Centre, Tom Baker Cancer Centre
kyle.anstey@ahs.ca  
587-779-3720

Al-Noor Nenshi Nathoo, BSc, MA
Alberta Children’s Hospital and South Health Campus
al-noor.nenshinathoo@ahs.ca
587-794-3177

Kimberley Stever, MA
Clinical Ethicist
Alberta Children’s Hospital, Public Health
kimberley.stever@ahs.ca
587-794-3967

South Zone

Eric Mathison, PhD
Clinical Ethicist
eric.mathison@ahs.ca
403-634-0353