Indigenous Peoples in Canada

Indigenous Health

Introductory Video Series

This series provides information about Indigenous peoples’ history, social determinants of health, and on strategies for culturally competent care.

IHP Learning Series

Did You Know?

  • The Canadian Constitution recognizes 3 groups of Aboriginal people – First Nations, Métis and Inuit. View the Indigenous Peoples and Health Care in Canada fact sheet for more information.
  • With 220,700 Albertans self-identifying as Indigenous, Alberta is home to the third largest Indigenous population in Canada. As well, Alberta has the only recognized Métis land base in Canada: the eight Métis settlements.
  • Edmonton and Calgary are home to 61,765 and 33,375 Indigenous peoples respectively. View the Urban and Rural Reserve Indigenous Populations fact sheet for more information.
  • Altogether, there are 45 First Nations and 140 reserves in Alberta across Treaty 6, 7 and 8. Treaties are constitutionally recognized agreements between the federal government (or as it was formerly known, the Crown) and Indigenous peoples. View the Treaties fact sheet for more information.
  • Indigenous peoples and communities in Alberta are not homogenous. Within Indigenous communities there is great diversity of cultural perspectives, religions, spirituality and ways of life. View the Terminology fact sheet for more information.
  • Alberta’s First Nation population demographic is younger than the general provincial population. More than 52% is under 25 years of age and less than 5% is over the age of 64 years.