Non-Designated Facilities/Community Sites

Mental Health Act

Non-designated facilities are any location other than those listed in the Mental Health Act Forms and Designation Regulation. Correctional facilities, family practice clinics, mental health outpatient programs are examples of non-designated facilities. Essentially, anywhere a Qualified Health Professional (QHP) is working and may use their authorities under the Mental Health Act (MHA). Currently, a QHP is a Nurse Practitioner, a Physician, or a Psychiatrist.

There are a variety of ways in which the MHA is enacted in the community (e.g., issuance of a Form 10 Statement of Peace Officer on Apprehension or a single Form 1 Admission Certificate). Resources that support Non-Designated Facilities initiating authorities under the MHA are below.